Skip to main content
Close video


Share This Share

First steps in reopening Queensland border

Shop assistant with a customer

Northern NSW small businesses have welcomed the news that QLD has reopened its borders to parts of the state.

The Qld Government has announced that from October 1 the state’s ‘border bubble’ will include five additional local government areas (LGAs), including Byron Bay, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Glen Innes.

NSW residents in these areas will still need to apply for a border declaration pass to go into QLD. 

The change means that the QLD border zone grows to include a total of 41 NSW postcodes, across 11 LGAs.  

Last week the NSW Small Business Commissioner Chris Lamont visited Northern NSW businesses to discuss the impact of the border closure on their operations and potential solutions. 

Mr Lamont said many businesses believed the Queensland border closure had been more difficult to manage than the COVID-19 pandemic itself.

Small businesses in the construction, medical, manufacturing, professional services and tourism sectors in particular have faced some very serious challenges from the Queensland border closure,” he said.   

“The announcement to extend the ‘border bubble’ will provide some important relief for small businesses along the NSW/Queensland border and we look forward to a broader reopening as soon as possible.”  



Sign up to our newsletter
for the latest small business news

Sign Up